Sunday, July 14, 2024
Advertise Here
HomeSportsMatch Officials named for Super 8s at ICC Men’s T20 World Cup...

Match Officials named for Super 8s at ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Chris Gaffaney and Richard Kettleborough, both members of The Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, will be the on-field umpires for the USA’s historic first-ever knockout match at an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which takes place against South Africa on 19 June.

The co-hosts qualified in second place from Group A, in part thanks to a magnificent Super Over victory against Pakistan and will now take on the Proteas as well as England and fellow co-hosts West Indies in Group 2 of the Super 8s.

Joel Wilson will be the TV Umpire for the USA against South Africa, while he will also stand as on-field umpire alongside Gaffaney when the American team takes on England in Barbados on 23 June. Allahudien Paleker, who is making his senior men’s tournament debut in this competition, will act as the fourth umpire.

The same day will see Kettleborough return to the middle for the seismic Group 1 clash between Australia and India alongside compatriot Richard Illingworth.

Illingworth and Michael Gough will oversee Australia’s Super 8s opener against Bangladesh, while Nitin Menon and Ahsan Raza are the on-field umpires for England’s meeting with the West Indies.

Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid, making history in this competition as the first Bangladeshi official at an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, is the TV Umpire for that one and will act as on-field umpire alongside Chris Brown for England’s second Group 2 game against South Africa.

Jeff Crowe of The Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, who has overseen more T20Is than anyone else, will be in the chair for England’s clashes with the West Indies and South Africa as well as Australia against India.